Hair life cycle 

Hair follicles grow in repeated cycles. Every hair goes through the cycle independently from the others. One sep­arate cycle can be divided into three phases: 
1. Anagen – Hair growth phase
About 85% of the hair is in the growth phase. The durability of the growth phase is determined by genetical factors. On average it lasts for about 2 to 6 years. Every year hair grows for about 10 cm. 

2. Catagen – Hair transitional phase
This phase lasts for about 1–3 weeks. Hair follicle shrinks to about 1/6 of its normal length. The lower part is destroyed and breaks away from dermal papilla. 

3. Telogen - Hair resting phase 
On average this phase lasts about 5–6 weeks. During this time hair doesn’t grow any more, but is still attached to the follicle. About 10–15% of all hair is in this phase simulta­neously. In the end of resting phase the hair falls out and hair follicle repeatedly enters growth phase. The formation of the new hair starts. If the old hair still hasn’t fallen out, the new hair will gradually push it out.
Did you know that?
  •  Hair grows ~ l cm in a month
  • Every hair “lives” about 2–6 years
  • When it falls out the new hair starts growing in it's place 
  • Approximately 50–100 hairs fall out daily
  •  Hair diameter is 0.05–0.15 mm
Healthy hair grows from healthy scalp.  Take a look at System 4 products to maintain a healthy scalp.